Piano Sonata No.1 (2009) – 20′


I. Allegro (video)


II. Fantasy Intermezzo (video)


III. Lullaby – attacca (video)


IV. Fugue


Amy Zigler, piano


Program Notes

Kathryn and Brent Seagle commissioned this work on behalf of the Gainesville Chamber Orchestra. The work was written during the summer of 2009 and explores the formal plan of a cyclical four-movement sonata. The overall aim was rhythmic drive, attitude, and a focus on secundal contrapuntal writing.

Comments are closed.